





[draft agenda of 11.08.2011]

# **European Congress of Rural Communes – COTER** seminar

"Which Cohesion Policy for rural areas after 2013?"

20 October 2011

<u>Venue</u>: Warsaw, Poland, "Kongresowa" Hall of the Palace of Culture and Science, Plac Defilad 1

9:30-11:00 Registration of participants

10:30 Musical performance

### 11:00-11:40 **Opening of the Congress**

- Mr Mariusz POZNANSKI, Mayor of Czerwonak, President of the Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland
- Mr Michel DELEBARRE, Mayor of Dunkirk, Chairman of the COTER Commission
- Mr Waldemar PAWLAK, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Economy, Poland
- Mrs Mercedes BRESSO (IT/PES), President of the Committee of the Regions
- Mr Adam STRUZIK (PL/EPP), Member of the Committee of the Regions, Marshal of the Mazovia Region

## 11:40-12:45 Session 1 - Development challenges of rural areas within the European Union and Cohesion Policy's answers after 2013

Chairperson: Michel DELEBARRE (FR/PSE), Mayor of Dunkirk, Chairman of the COTER Commission

- Mr Johannes HAHN, Commissioner for Regional Policy
- Mrs Elizbieta BIENKOWSKA, Minister for Regional Development of Poland
- Mrs Danuta HÜBNER, Chairwoman of the Committee on regional development, European Parliament

#### **Discussion**

12:45-13:50 Session 2 – What development approach is most favourable to real and sustainable development of cities and rural areas?

Chairperson: Luis DURNWALDER (IT/EPP), Member of the CoR, Chairman of the Management Board of the autonomous province of Bolzano, Rapporteur for the CoR on "The CAP towards 2020"

- Mr Marek SAWICKI, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Poland
- Mrs Mercedes BRESSO, President of the Committee of the Regions
- Mr De CASTRO (ES/PSE), President of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development, European Parliament
- **Mr John MORLEY**, Consultant, METIS GmbH, author of the report "The effects of Cohesion Policy in rural areas and experience in co-ordinating with rural development programmes"

#### **Discussion**

13:50-14:20 Session 3 – Experience and lessons from local and regional authorities in using Structural Funds for the development of rural areas

Chairperson: Mariusz POZNANSKI, Mayor of Czerwonak, President of the Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland

- Mr Vanik BERBERIAN, President of the Association of Rural Communes (France)
- speech of a representative of the Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland (Mr Jerzy ZAJAKALA (PL/EA), Member of the Committee of the Regions – tbc)
- Mr Nicolean MOLDOVAN, Mayor of Beclean and 1er Vice President of the Association of Rural Communes of Romania.

#### Discussion

- 14:20-14:30 Summary and adoption of the Warsaw Declaration of the Congress Mr Michel Delebarre, Mayor of Dunkirk, Chairman of the COTER Commission and Mr Mariusz Poznański, President of the Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland
- 14:30 Lunch hosted by Mr **Mariusz Poznański**, President of the Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland